Dr. Carleen Maitland is co-Director of the Institute for Information Policy and Associate Professor in the College of Information Sciences and Technology at Penn State University, USA. Her expertise includes analyses of information and communication technology (ICT) use in international organizations, particularly those involved in fostering economic and social development as well as humanitarian relief. Her work has been carried out in the U.S., Europe, Africa and the Middle East, while working with several UN organizations, Save the Children, and the U.S. State Department, just to name a few.

Outcomes from her work, including over 100 refereed journal articles, conference proceedings and presentations as well as book chapters, have appeared in outlets such as the Journal of Information Technology, The Information Society, Telecommunications Policy, and Information Systems Frontiers. She has served as PI on over $1 million  of grants from the National Science Foundation, and co-PI on another $800,000 from diverse organizations including the European Commission, the U.S. Department of Commerce, and IBM, among others.

She received a Ph.D. in the Economics of Infrastructures from Delft University of Technology, the Netherlands, in 2001 as well as undergraduate and graduate degrees in engineering from Worcester Polytechnic Institute and Stanford University. Also, from 2010-2012 she served as a Program Manager in the U.S. National Science Foundation, both in the Office of International Science and Engineering and the Office of Cyberinfrastructure.

My graduation from TU Delft with (4th from left, L to R) Bill Melody, Rohan Samarajiva, Amy Mahan, me, Johannes Bauer, Koen Dittrich, Henk Sol, and Robin Mansell.